June 2015

Minutes from 4th June 2015

4th June 2015

Who does what?

Who does what?

The Parish Council is funded by a precept which is an amount decided by the parish councillors each year and collected for the Parish Council by Broadland District Council as part of your Council Tax; if you look at your Council Tax bill you will see a line for a small amount for the Parish Council.

The Parish Council is made up of 7 parish councillors, who were nominated in May 2015.  The parish clerk is employed by the Parish Council to deal with the administration, take the minutes of the meetings, produce the accounts and budgets and be the first port of call for local residents.

The Parish Council looks after the churchyard and cemetery, the play area and playing field in Cargate Lane, the boatdyke and staithe, the grasscutting around the village, various benches, litter bins, allotments and the bus shelter at Southend.   The Council is consulted on planning applications but does not make the final decision.  The Council supports various local charities and groups and appoints some of the trustees for the village hall committee.

Broadland District Council is the authority which decides on the planning applications, (apart from a few low-lying properties which are in the Broads Authority area.)  It also looks after your rubbish collections, sorts out street nameplates, deals with pest control and other aspects of environmental health, tree preservation orders and licensing.  Broadland also runs the Tots 2 Teens holiday play schemes.

You can contact Broadland District Council on 01603 431133 or www.broadland.gov.uk.

Norfolk County Council looks mends the roads, the pavements, the streetlights on the trunk roads and some housing estates, manages the schools and adult education, social services, libraries, public footpaths and bridleways.

You can contact Norfolk County Council on 0344 800 8020 or www.norfolk.gov.uk.

Your district councillors are:  Frank O’Neill  on 1493 752111 or [email protected] and Chris Harrison on 07785 541934 or [email protected]

Your county councillor is Tom Garrod at [email protected]

Should you need him, your Member of Parliament is Keith Simpson and you can contact him on 01603 865763 or [email protected].

The Parish Council meets on the first Thursday of each month at 7.30 p.m. in the Village Hall.  There is always an opportunity for the public to ask questions or raise issues at the beginning of the meeting but then, once the meeting starts formally the public is not allowed to join in.  There is no meeting of the full Council planned for August.

You can contact the clerk, Pauline James, on 01493 751070 or [email protected]